Some people think that people who choose a job early and keep doing it are more likely to get a satisfying career life than those who frequently change jobs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When discussing about career path, many people believe that it is better to work consistently in an organisation, in stead of changing the job usually. Personally, I disagree with this statement. I think that the both decisions can be beneficial, depending on what the employee is aiming for. This essay will explain the reasons.

At first glance, it is apparent that maintaining a certain job in a long time has advantages to both employees and employers. Firstly, it increases the probability of promotion. When working continuously with an individual, the employer would evaluate talent and potential of the person, therefore would offer him managerial posts. It can be seen nowadays that the majority of directors working in large-scaled enterprises are experienced people. Besides, working in a company for years will ensure that the employees get used to collaborating with colleagues and the office environment, hence higher job satisfaction.

On the other hand, however, there are several reasons that underlie decision of switching jobs. The change might happen due to disappointment within working environment. For example, young employees usually feel unsuitable with a hierarchical company, so they quit and start searching for a more flat structure. Sometimes, job hoppers lose their passion of working in a certain profession, thus starting a novel paths. Indeed, this phenomenon is actually common in the young community, in which people would rather pursue interest than have a well-paid job.

In conclusion, although lengthy duration is an essential factor for career progression, it is absolutely possible to change jobs frequently until one finds the ideal occupation, because passion and satisfaction also play important roles. As a result, I believe that there are different ways to achieve satisfaction in workplace, including constant working and frequent job changing.