It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As awareness of remaining healthy has been raised among urban citizens, some believe that government expenditure on encouragement for an active lifestyle is more beneficial than medication. Personally, I agree with the statement, and this essay will explain why this is a positive trend.

It must be admitted that remedies for illness are indeed essential and therefore require a considerable public-private collaboration to research. However, contributing to improving residents’ daily life seems to have several advantages in the long term.

Firstly, it would save for the government a budget if authorities decide to concentrate on healthy life promotion. Medical treatments are usually costly, and even prohibitive sometimes to the poor if they do not receive financial support. Meanwhile, to construct facilities for extracurricular activities frequently consumes inconsiderable state investment. For example, local authorities must only spend a little to generate public places in residential areas, which allow dwellers to play sports. Investing in such facility, rule makers not only encourage people to engage in healthy activities, but they would also save money to invest in other needs, such as public service.

Moreover, to prevent the diseases is obviously better than to cure them. Many sicknesses have long-term (even permanent sometimes) negative side effects after cured, and convalescents may struggle with these syndromes for long time. Therefore, patients would surely get their living quality dwindled. For this reason, instead of aiming for the cure, the government can impose regulations that use state investment to support entrepreneurs relating to lifestyle improvement. For instance, bicycle-sharing service or dietary supplement business should receive tax reduction.

In conclusion, although hospital healthcare is vital for residential life, I believe the public contribution should also concentrate on motivating people to stay hygienic. This is a money saving option and additionally can get rid of unwanted effects.