Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that watching programs on television or playing video games pale in comparison with reading books. Personally, I agree with this statement and will state my preference in the essay below.

On the one hand, playing video games and watching television should be considered excellent relaxation tools for those children who suffer from high-stress levels. It is not uncommon nowadays that most children in Asia have to engage in extra classes after finishing their mandatory class at school, resulting in detrimental effects on their mental wellbeing. As a result, watching television allows them to recuperate spiritual strength before the repetition of stringent timetable on the following days. Besides, playing video games enables children to not only cement relations between their peers but also naturally study a few useful lessons while enjoying it.

On the other hand, reading stories helps children develop their creativity and imagination. When settling down with a book, children can not only immerse themselves in a virtual world full of fictional figures but also visualize the settings and the progress of the plot, described by words in the book. A study by scientists has shown solid evidence that when people read books, the brain will increase connections between neurons to help enhance their memory and creativity. Moreover, with the repetition of enjoying books, children can nurture their patience and concentration, which are among crucial features in personal and career success.

In conclusion, I believe although both watching television and playing video games offer several benefits mentioned above, reading stories from a book is more beneficial overall considering their advantages on a children’s cognitive development.