some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adults punishments

In many societies, juvenile crimes are rampant mainly because of disparities in the resources available. Whilst, some sections of society believe that the punishment for the crime should be universal, regardless of age, others believe vice versa. However, I believe that the time awarded as punishment should reflect the nature of crime amongst juveniles. I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay.

First and foremost, many crimes are being committed by teens are out of desperation, the fact that there are no job opportunities available will lead them to turn to crime, as the lure of instant cash is extremely attractive. Therefore, the system must look into these offenses based on the severity of the act in comparison to the nature of the individual. For example, in many countries, misbehaviors by teens will result in a warning and a mandatory unpaid community service sentence. This I feel, is correct because a kid should be institutionalized because he made a wrong turn in life, instead, he needs the support of the system to be set on the right track.

Alternately, there are crimes for which it is better in the public's interest that they are convicted and put behind bars. These crimes are more serious and therefore require stricter punishment. For example, in the 2012 Delhi Gang rape case, one of the accused was a juvenile, and as per law, they cannot receive the death penalty, so instead, he was rehabilitated and was released in 2015. Now although he was the youngest member to partake in this act, the act he committed was so gruesome, it should have warranted the same punishment as the adult offenders. This was not accepted by many in society, because they are afraid that he will commit this act again.

In conclusion, the nature of the crime should be the determining factor in whether a person should receive jail time or be asked to do unpaid community service.