some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adults punishments

In an era of ever-increasing crime rates, the idea of lowering punishment for teenage criminals has gained strong approval among people of concern. Much as I understand the reasons why such an idea is brought up, I believe that they fail to outweigh a plethora of plausible explanations for why it should not be enforced in real life.

First, dwindling the punishment based merely on a criminal’s age would appear as an incentive to teenage law-breakers. By this, I mean trying to make concessions for juvenile violators would only drive them closer to violating laws, for they are aware that they would be less severely punished due to their immaturity. As a result, this idea turns into an assurance of a lighter punishment for those who violate the laws at a young age.

Adding further, any act of lowering the punishment for juvenile law-breakers would show huge disrespect to the victim. Specifically, regardless of the criminal’s age, the loss that he or she has caused remains the same. With that being stated, it is morally right that they are objected to the same level of punishment as those who are older.

Granted, advocates for this idea state that juveniles should be given a lighter punishment because the crime they commit is purely a consequence of immaturity. Although this statement appears to be eminently rational, I stick to my point of view that the standard to which punishment is granted should be based on the crime per se in lieu of the criminal’s age.

In the light of the aforementioned discussion, I strongly believe that lawbreakers should be equally subjected to punishments of their crime for everyone is held responsible for their wrongdoings and that the loss caused by them remains the same regardless of their age.