Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that schools should provide not only academic subjects, but also practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management for the school children. As far as I’m concerned, I agree with this idea.

Firstly, on the one hand, learning academic subjects can cultivate a variety of ways of thinking, which is helpful for children to have their outlooks on life. On the other hand, through academic subjects, children can understand practical skills more easily and quickly.

Secondly, grasping practical skills is beneficial to children’s problem solving abilities and it makes it easy to get used to the society. For example, after children learn the car maintenance, they will put what they have studied in class into practice when there is something wrong with their cars.

Thirdly, if the school just open the academic subjects, students can not cope with difficulties in their daily life, although they are exposed enough academic knowledge. And it is the same that if school only offer practical skills classes, the children will have problems with understanding the details of skills due to poor foundation of knowledge.

All in all, I think only this two kinds of classes combine, can children grow up into excellent people.