Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to

As a high school student, I’m more likely to choose to follow my heart while making choices. Base on that, I agree with the statement that young people depended too much on the elders when it came to decision making, which is totally different from now. Here are several reasons to explain.

First and foremost, young people in today’s society have various methods to value each option before making their decisions. Since the internet was not developed back to those old days, it was really hard to get specific choice but listen to their parents who they could trust most. Let’s take my mother’s experience as an example. When she was 19 years old, she had to make a decision on selecting her major. Since there was few ways for her to get any indroduction of the majors, she could only listen to my grandparents’ words. She selected Russian, and found it hard for her to study. What if she had a computer that allowed her to check the information of the majors? She might not follow my grandparents’ instruction and chose a major that actually fitted her. On the other hand, parents are different from parents nowadays. Since the society is developing rapidly, parents are becoming less likely to caught their children’s opinions. For instance, my mother really wants me to be a teacher in the future, since she considers it as a stable, well-salaried job. But I think this idea is out of date, for technology is developing fast now, learning techniques of desgining high-tech machines.