Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged Others believe that children who are taught to co operate rather than compete become more useful adults

Children are the tender buds of the society and they are required to be taught true values of life. Therefore, some people tend to believe that feeling of competition should be infused in them while others believe that the possession of cooperative values is required for them. I will discuss the merits and demerits of both aspects before reaching to any opinion.

To begin with, there are many reasons why children should be having competional values? Firstly, competition motivates youngsters to accelerate their efforts to attain a higher level in education and in other activities. They start doing work hard to compete with others and understand the value of hard work. This dedication and hard work help them to stand first everywhere. Secondly, competional values inculcate self-confidence and self-independence in children. When they participate in activities and compete with others, they are more likely to have a feeling of self-achievement and fulfillment. They feel themselves worthy that provide them balanced and peaceful mind. They tend to become self-reliant and that result in best decision talking ability in them. Moreover, sense of completion is the need of the hour. Undoubtedly, in the modern era, people since their childhood till adults, face completion for example- in school there are a dance competition, race competition, poem competition and when they grow adults, they face competition in taking a job while taking admission in college and even face competitive in an exam. Thus, a value is highly required.

On the other hand, it is needless to say that how important is it to inculcate the value of cooperation. This is the only feeling by which a child can learn teamwork, team spirit, co-existence, tolerance, and patience. Moreover, if the history is seen it becomes quite evident that the well-known icons of the society are only those who had a helping and sacrificing attitude. A self-centered human being cannot earn fame in society. Secondly, incessant preaching for competition may result in rivalry feeling for the peer group and others. These rivalry feelings take no time in turning in to jealous and personal grudges. A heart full of jealousy for others can never hold good for themselves and for others.

To conclude, after gauging both, competitional and cooperative values, I feel that both values have its own importance. Thus, a child should be brought up by imparting both equally.