Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged Others believe that children who are taught to co operate rather than compete become more useful adults

It is believed by some that competitiveness should be instilled in younger generation while others argue that they should be encouraged to admire co-operation so that there will be a better future generation. This essay discusses both sides of the views and then I will present my own perspective.

According to some, youngsters should be motivated to become competitive because it will help them to learn how to survive in competitive environments which is a vital element to possess by everyone nowadays. Future societies are likely to become highly competitive in every aspect, hence adults should make sure their offspring are in good shape to survive it. For example, in order to secure a good employment, a qualified degree is often requested by prospective employers, however only a certain group is able to enter universities and complete a better degree. Moreover, being in a competition promotes continuous improvement of the whole group, resulting a highly qualified future generation. The more the competition, the sharper they will become.

Others, however, claims that juveniles should be nurtured with moral qualities such as being co-operative and helpful in the hope that they will become responsible humans eventually. Instilling such thoughts and qualities at a younger age will make them humane rather than self-centred individuals. It is often the case that a community can thrive when members are helpful to each other. Worse yet, competition often leads to anger and selfishness amongst people, which can lead to devastating consequences such as violence and manifold anti-social incidents.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits. However, on balance, I tend to believe that competition is an essential element among younger generation given that they are nurtured with good moral qualities so that they will become both talented and responsible adults eventually.