Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Educating f the children is extremely important, because the future of the society relies on the young generations. many people describe the competition as true engine of the wellbeing, others disagree with this view, pointing out that cooperation is more useful skill. although I recognize some advantages in the first position, I agree with the latter opinion.

Our social system is deeply pervaded by the value of the meritocracy: since the primary school the children are taught to compete each other and such a tendency is someway positive, in fact, the confrontation is a great stimulus to enhance the students' performances, for instance, if the results in a test are rewarded with a special mention, the participants will be pulled to the best in order to obtain the prize. The supporters of this teaching model argue that rivalry between students ends up in a beneficial selection of the most talented ones, who they have the right to achieve their goals within a high-level environment freed by the presence of the less talented younglings; strictly connected with those approaches is the idea to form specific grades for distinguished children.

The opposite view, on the contrary, underline importance of the collaboration and inclusion describing those aspects as crucial in the education of the youngest citizens. it must be recognized how the best achievements in all fields can be reached only by the team work and very seldom by a single person. For example, the overall majority of the most disrupting inventions and innovations, like personal computers and Internet, were born thanks to the hard work of different professionists that were been able to cooperate each other. learning to listen the others instead simply compete with them is also important in the development of more peaceful countries not characterized by dangerous forms of nationalism. Ultimately, the collaboration it is a great tool to reduce the stress in the schools and on the workplaces: a lot of studies show how many kinds of mental illnesses are caused by an excessive sense of competition among people constantly under pressure.

To summarize, I believe that the children should learn to collaborate, because there are a lot of advantages in the long term, both for the individuals and the society, although I recognize some pros in the competition.