Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is believed by few that imposing penalties and fines for not following the traffic rules, is the most suitable way for reducing the number of traffic accidents. On the other hand,this opinion is denied by some people. According to them, some other solutions would be more efficient than punishments, such as proper city planning and spreading awareness.

In the recent years, the number of traffic accidents occurring each year has dramatically increased.This is not limited to one country, but the growth can be seen worldwide. According to some individuals, the prime cause of traffic accidents is ignorance of traffic rules. Many people break traffic laws by driving in the wrong direction, even in the areas, where wrong side driving is strictly prohibited. This leads to increase in chances of getting hit by the vehicles coming from other directions. Traffic signals are also not being followed in some areas. People don't stop even after seeing red signals. This situation culminates into accidents. Implementing stringent laws and punishments would induce fear in the public. If heavy fine is imposed upon the civilians for breaching the laws, then incidents of driving offenses will decrease. This will, ultimately, reduce accidents.

On the other hand, implementing laws is not sufficient. Some unscrupulous people will still breach the law and bribe some venal traffic officers. According to me, the primary reason in climbing number of accidents is growing use of vehicles. Due to industrialization and globalization, two-wheeler and four-wheeler have become cheaper than before. At the same time, public transport and road facilities are not sufficient for growing population. So more and more people buy private vehicles. Moreover, the roads are not wide enough to accommodate these much vehicles, which is the main reason for traffic accidents. Laws won't be helpful to solve the situation. The condition can only be ameliorated by widening the roads and making public transport effective. One other reason for accidents is lack of awareness among people regarding driving safety. The citizens don't know the actual reason behind the traffic rules. People in some rural areas are not even aware about these rules and the consequences of not following the rules. So training people for road safety will also help in reducing the traffic accidents.

In conclusion, while it is true that strict punishment is plays an important role in reducing number of accidents, but development of roads and spreading awareness are more effective solutions than punishments. So more budget should be allocated for construction of new roads and road safety training.