Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Given how often chaotic and disastrous road accidents occur nowadays, some people believe that severe penalties for traffic violations can be the ultimate solution to this issue. In stark contrast, others beg to differ as they think different methods would be more efficient in dealing with such problems. Because of the following rationale, I strongly support the latter group’s idea.

On the one hand, harsh punishments are extremely effective short-term solutions to minimize traffic calamities. The government oughts to employ penalties and fines for these incidents, no matter how significant or petty they might be, as it would be a constant reminder that could cost time and money to the convicts of their mistakes and foolishness on the road, preventing them from ever committing such horrible blunders. In addition, when strict regulations are imposed, drivers will be much more careful with their attentiveness and control over their vehicles so as not to pay for their carelessness. Furthermore, the money gained from traffic offenders can be of great aid for the national budget, helping the government invest in building facilities. Hence, the effectiveness of punishments for driving carelessly can not be overlooked.

On the other hand, it is wiser to consider other solutions to improve road safety. This is by far the better choice because in many cases, accidents happen because of subjective or situational factors such as weather conditions, road potholes, or the unsafe state of guard rails. Not everybody is inclined to be ruled under an iron fist and fear for their financial circumstances even when they are not to blame. Rather, citizen-friendly approaches to resolve the matter should be implemented, such as investing in renovating and improving road safety. Furthermore, basic driving lessons and skills should be taught without costing a fortune to be available to every driver regardless of their background. Another point worth noting is that smart cars nowadays are also a wonderful substitute for traditional means of transport as they can detect and avoid incoming dangers. Some alternative methods should be employed to simultaneously reduce accidents and be in favor of citizens.