some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

We are always seeking effective ways to reduce driving crimes, and it is often said that the best method is to impose strict punishments. However, others including me believe that this would only one of a range of options we should use, not the most effective proposition.

One the one hand, those who support severe penalties promote the idea that traffic offenders should incur extra costs which could be prohibitive in most cases, especially when combined with imprisonments. This might be a significant factor which remarkably changes the codes of conduct and even life-threatening styles of driving such as dangerous driving at fast speed. Furthermore, they add that if careless drivers knew that they might be no longer eligible to have a driving license because of traffic crimes, they would certainly obey regulations, leading to a dramatic decrease in road accidents.

On the other hand, it is often argued that there is a number of more viable strategies rather than severe punishments. Firstly, having continuous education initiatives through mass media and schools seems to improve drivers` understanding of dire consequences people would suffer if they broke the laws. While they are well-educated regarding driving rules and restrictions, they should be fully aware of financial, social, and health burden of road accidents. This would appear to change drivers` attitude towards reckless driving, hopefully preventing from further damages. Secondly, unless the quality standards of roads and cars are at reasonable levels, road accidents can never be halted. This is undoubtedly beneficial to have modern cars with, for example, airbags and seat belt, and wide and safe roads in order to ensure drivers and pedestrians to have high levels of security.

In conclusion, I believe that imposing strict penalties seems to be severe and deterrent to some extent, but not quite the most effective way because educational programs and enhancing standards of cars and roads are undeniably fundamental needs to secure drivers and passersby.