Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

At the recent year , there is a continuous debate whether laying down some stringent penalties for traffic –related criminals or not . While some support it , the rest believe that other measures would do miracles to forge traffic safety . In my opinion , performing both views simultaneously will be the best choice .

On the one hand , harsh punishments is a leading contributor to decrease the amount of road casualties . Penalties for reckless chauffeur are considered as a deterrent , meaning that people will not have a tendency to repeat the same offence . Moreover , it also alert a would – be law breakers to give up contravening the law . Therefore it makes people become more disciplined and alert .

On the other hand , we can put forward some feasible solutions to eliminate completely this pressing concern .Firstly , heightening peole’s awareness is be of the importance . For instance ,the school should organise some lectures to guide children or the government had better require driver with higher level . Secondly , the more signs the road exhibit , the more attention motorist pays . For example , speed bumps and road bends serve to calm the traffic or speed cameras will deter driver from driving at high speed . Last but not least , the goverment must strongly invest in enhancing public transport . As a result , the amount of drivers along with traffic accidents will slow down considerably .

In conclusion , besides banning , we should also take aforementioned measures at the same time to achieve the best result.