Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued by some that strict punishment should be imposed to minimize traffic accidents. In my opinion, however, besides that resolve, there are other efficient measures that can be implemented to protect residents.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why individuals hold the belief that driving offenses should be punished hard. The main reason, however, is that punishment may discourage drivers from being careless, such as using phones or drinking alcoholic beverages while driving. A good example of that is the introduction of the latest fine to Vietnamese people who have high levels of alcohol while riding motorbikes. Because of that, residents consume less alcoholic drinks, which leads to a drop in expected traffic accident numbers. Being compared to a couple of years ago, beer and wine are the main reasons resulting in the high rates of accidents and even other criminal convictions, such as murder cases.

On the other hand, I would argue that other actions may have a contribution to road safety. First of all, the causes of an increasing number of accidents should be considered. One of the main reasons is the high levels of private vehicles. The government should put more resources into the improvement of the public transport system to courage people to use buses and trains to commute. This way also helps to protect air quality. Besides, the peak-hour toll should be charged to discourage individuals from travelling in rush hours. Moreover, raising awareness of citizens plays an important role in this matter. This could be done by running regular campaigns about the detrimental effects on health and life without driving responsibilities.

In conclusion, I believe that in addition to strict regulations, other feasible actions could be taken to mitigate traffic problems.