Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that actions by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large businesses which can make a difference. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that individuals can take some proactive actions to prevent global climate change; however,

others argue that only governments and large corporations can perform environmental protection activities. In my opinion, individual action is equally significant and should be taken into account.

There are several reasons why people hold a belief that global climate change can be prevented by governments and

large businesses. From the government perspective, they have the right to impose and enforce laws. By issuing strict

regulations on environmental protection, citizens and companies are unlikely to carry unlawful actions which produce

detrimental effects to the climate change. In business terms, if large corporations do not pour chemical waste into

clean water and send out exhaust fumes into the air, the climate can be protected remarkably. Only by complying with

environmental protection laws, can businesses promote sustainable development.

In spite of the aforementioned arguments, I concur with those who believe that there are activities that individuals can

do to support the prevention of the global climate change. Firstly, each citizen should use disposable items and do not

dispose of waste in inappropriate places because waste is one of the main factors of climate change. Secondly,

individuals’ efforts to walk, cycle or use public transport instead of using private cars or motorbikes which discharge

vehicle emissions into the air play an instrumental role in the climate change prevention strategy.

In conclusion, the prevention of global climate change is not the responsibility of governments and large businesses

only, tackling this problem also depends on individuals’ efforts to keep the waste to a minimum and limit the emission

of greenhouse gases.