Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is widely argued that students who become graduated from universities ought to be prepared by the science, technology and abilities which are required in their future job, while others disagree. I believe that the main role of universities should be about preparing graduates for the professional job.

The first compelling reason for holding to my view is that useful courses which give students information about their future career can be more beneficial for their future. This is because that having enough knowledge about a job can considerably increase their chance to find an ideal job since employers to catch the best efficiency, prefer to employ someone who is familiar with the main objects in the job than use a person without any professional gerund. For example, most graduates who have studied Information Technology in university cannot find an appropriate job, although they have a great deal of information about the science of the major as they do not have been prepared by required information for the job, nor will they be forced to pass some additional courses to be accepted in the job.

Moreover, these courses which seems more useful for the future can be more attractive for people who are about to choose whether continue their education or stop it as many people like to study in a practical major which can ensure their future by preparing them for a serious competition for job vacancies. To illustrate it, many people decide on dropout due to finding a job and avoiding their time from wasting in universities, however if they find a major which can prepare them for a job, they may continue their education. So, more students would be encouraged to study in universities.

In conclusion, universities have a critical role to prepare graduates for a successful employment and to attract more students to continue their education by teaching useful skills for the workplaces.