Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country.To what extent do you agree?

There is common thinking among people nowadays pertaining to the fluency of a language being restricted to natives and one must be present among them to get to that level of speech. Well, I am ambivalent to this opinion and in the lines to come, I will explain why.

On one hand, this is an intrinsic property of human being that he adapts to his surroundings; acclimatizing himself to fit in, and learn the means of communication that will help him establish his grounds in that area. Therefore, when people start living in a foreign community, they often pick up the tone, dialect and accent of the locals. Moreover, conversing daily with a multitude of people coming from different professions tend to automatically increase the lexical resource thus making their language flawless and smooth.

On the other hand albeit, people struggling to immigrate ta a foreign country often have to pass the local language exam of that particular country, and in an effort to do so, they often try to imitate locals. Well, in olden days when technology was not advance, people searched for a citizen of that country, residing in their hometown, to converse with him in exchange of a hefty payment. But, in the world today, the advent of the internet and social media has interconnected every distant part of the world; people of various origins now converse with each other daily regarding different topics. This has actually broadened the roadway to the fluency challenge that the people faced previously.

To conclude, in my opinion, the statement related to the fluency pertaining to only locals has no worth anymore and though it is a little uphill to practice the language to a level of local fluency, the internet has made it possible. Therefore, in the end, my vote goes in complete disaccord with the statement.