In most of the education systems students are assessed by written examinations Do you think it is a good idea or not Give your reasons

In contemporary world, the progression of written examinations as an assessing method in education systems and its related effects has sparked a heated debate. While proponents assert that it is an effective and proven method that has developed through several years, the opponents disagree with this disposition. This essay will scrutinize few of the several reasons that disapprove this current system of written examination and demonstrate my disaccord with this system by few good examples.

At the first place, there are myriad of arguments in favor of my stance, in which the most preponderant one is that written examinations only test memory of the subjects rather then their creativity, intelligence and other abilities. Besides, many brilliant minds who actually did not make through this system, have now become the iconic figure of their field. As a tangible illustration, Albert Einstein, a renown scientist who changed the perception of science altogether, actually failed thrice in exams followed by expulsion from the institute. Manifestly, it is quite clear that current set of written examinations do not help in recognizing a person’s true talent and abilities.

On the second place, another pivotal aspect of this argument is that written examinations often use scoring system that compare students with each other. Probing further, this comparison may lead to depression and anxiety for those whose true abilities contradict the main scoring criteria. To cite a practical instance, in year 2015, approximately 1100 students attempted suicide due to peer pressure of high marks in the written assessments. Consequently, it is quite evident that this system of examination is negatively effecting people in a community.

To conclude succinctly, this essay discussed appalling nature of the false paradigm of examination through an array of reasons and examples. Which, in my opinion, should be changed as soon as possible.