Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country.To what extent do you agree?

When it comes to speaking a foreign language, a multitude share the thought that the native environment is a must and any adscititious location may never be helpful, in making a speaker fluent and flawless in the second language. I am in total disagreement with this school of thought and in the coming lines, I will explain why this statement had been null and void in the past and how it is untrue in present.

In the past, right from the early ages, people travelled long distances to find a quality life. Interestingly, many of the communities were very concerned about their communication and therefore, could not tolerate any foreign language within their circle. Consequently, people trying to make through their lives within such nations had to learn the language and speak it fluently. Apropos of this, novice speakers hired tutors from the designated country which were residing in their hometown and conversed with them in exchange for some hefty fees while living in their own land. Hence, they not required to dwell in a foreign country to learn its language.

In present, with the advent of the internet, even the most distant parts of the world are now interlinked. Moreover, with a definition of international borders and autonomous bylaws of each country, the majority of them have made, a certain level of language competency, compulsory for foreign immigrants. As a result, linguistic databases from almost all countries surfaced on the world wide web. So, anyone wanting to be fluent in a certain language can do so by signing up with an online program while sitting in their bedroom and can interact with millions through social sites.

To recapitulate, it is evident from the citations above that right from the early days to the modern world, people do not really require to be residents of the country in order to get fluent. In my opinion, albeit it is quite helpful to become fluent while living in the native country still, it is not necessary.