Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.What is the reason for doing this?Is this a negative or positive development?

Parental affection is an intrinsic property, kneaded into the subconscious of a human being by nature and is getting inherited ever since. With turning circumstances, over a period of centuries, this behaviour took many shapes and expressions. In the current contemporary world, with exponential growth in population, intraprofessional competition has reached a new hype. Therefore, in this era of dwindling progress opportunities, becoming successful is as difficult as it is crucial and has consequently elevated parental concerns apropos of their child’s future. In the lines to come, I will discuss prime factors creating such distress and give some relative examples from the perspective of both the parents and the child.

On one hand, parents are facing much greater challenges, in terms of their offspring’s future prospects, as compared to their predecessors. Primarily, children are like fresh concrete, ready to be cast in the moulds prepared by their parents. But, the level of effort expected from them these days have deepened the molds and they have to increase the volume of effort to fill up to the brim. For instance, students obtaining passing marks in exams were considered eligible for many public and private jobs in the past. On the contrary, many students are refused admission nowadays in spite of obtaining 96% marks due to the merit list closing at 96.5%.

On the other hand, extreme pressure from parents have made their children depressed; the fun has abated their lives and their creativity has been affected drastically. Firstly, focus on studies and studies alone has restricted their sight from many adscititious activities ready to be explored. For instance, as many have debated, extracurricular activities enhance the cognitive abilities of a child and keep him from boredom and anxiety. A silent child, musing at some fixed spot is quintessentially a paradigm of a current contemporary juvenile.

In conclusion, I reckon, maintaining balance in life is of paramount importance, as gravitating towards a specific side can have adverse effects. Moreover, better judgement system should replace the current scoring methods, to evaluate every child individually rather than the comparison. This can actually relieve the burden from the parents’ shoulders as well as provide ample time to the young learner to flourish in other fields as well.