Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language.Do you agree with this opinion?

A culture can be defined as the growth of a group identity fostered by social patterns( of behaviours, interactions, cognitive constructs and understanding etc.) unique to the group. In general, a culture encompasses many aspects including art, food, heritage, apparel, religion, marriage, music, and language. Looking ahead, at first, in the lines to come, I will discuss culture from a linguistic point of view and shed afterwards, some light on other means of distinguishing cultures, later in this essay.

As a matter of fact, language plays a vital role in the identification of a culture. Firstly, there are different connotations for the same word in different cultures that share a common language and same is the case with accent and dialect. Secondly, there are a plethora of different idioms and phrasal verbs which are unique to certain cultures depending upon their locality, religion, and heritage. Moreover, poetry and literature of a group represent a deep imbuement of its culture. Therefore, in retrospect of the above citations, it is quite evident that linguistics is a vital part of cultural identification.

Having said that, it is often misleading to identify something from a single perspective; the same is the case with cultural recognition through mere language. As discussed in the beginning, there is a myriad of other factors contributing to the process. In the first place, there is art; a repository of society's collective memory and a universal way of communication through time and space. So, a culture can be known for its artefacts and artists. In the next place, there comes clothing; not only the type of clothing but the way it is worn speak about the culture of its owner.

To sum up, I reckon, albeit the importance of language can never be denied in understanding a culture; at the same time there exist various other factors that can substitute language for the very purpose. Conclusively, my vote goes in a slight disagreement with the statement of cultural misunderstanding without its language.