some people think that young people should be free to choose any career they like, while others say that they should think more realistically about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about whether youth should follow their passion or be more rational when looking for a job. From my standpoint, it will be wiser if they are given a chance to choose their own career.

On the one hand, choosing jobs pragmatically means people’s lives can be stabler and they do not need to worry about the future. They can work for state-owned corporations which provide more steady compensation such as income and retirement plans. Additionally, the structure is more organized so the risk of losing a job due to economic recession is very low compared to private companies. Another reason is it will be beneficial if they want to have a family. In the other words, young adults will become parents and have children to be taken care of. Moreover, living costs are getting more expensive. Thus, fresh graduates need to have permanent work that can cover their future.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that following passion for working can bring different satisfaction to themselves. This is because they can utilise their natural talents properly. Furthermore, this triggers them to be more excited at work. As a result, young adults can contribute significantly to something that they like without feeling forced. Another reason is millenials like to face challenges that match their passion. The more challenging the problem is, the more enthusiastic they are. In addition, various experiences will help them to be more resilient compared to people who like to play safe. For example, a lot of start-ups are emerging and managed by young people these days in Jakarta.

To sum up it is acceptable to work based on passion and skill at a young age. However, if it does not work out for more than 2 years, then they should make another plan.