Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Zoos nowadays provide people with a never-before-seen opportunity to learn more about animals and enjoy watching them. But to what extent is such an experience justifiable?

Captive animals usually suffer at the hands of humans. Some struggle with debilitating depressions as they have evolved to live in nature, not in a cage. Seldom are they provided a sizeable place to live in when kept in a zoo. Many of them need to run or fly to keep healthy, so being confined by cage walls can contribute to such health issues. To make the matter even worse, many zoos keep animals that belong to certain climates different from the place they are kept. Polar bears and penguins, for example, are seen in a number of zoos in India, a country with scorching hot weather. Is human’s entertainment at the cost of animals suffering morally oriented? How can humans claim to have civilized when torturing animals for the fun of it?

However, driven by changing public attitudes, some zoos, in recent years, have evolved from places for entertainment to animals’ sanctuaries. In fact, humans have conserved some animal species that otherwise would have been wiped out. African rhinos are one solid example that are poached in their habitat because of their super expensive horns. These animals are luckier when captive than free. Zoos can also be significant role takers in wildlife recovery in the foreseeable future as more severe climate changes will be experienced. These places can provide shelters to endangered animals as technology-driven systems can maintain the required temperature and moisture to facilitate life for some iconic species like polar bears since the Arctic is likely to become ice-free.

Although zoos have a mixed history, I believe they are going to play a key role in wildlife preservation in the not too distant future.