Some people use the internet to search for solutions to their medical problems. Is it a Positive or negative development?

Give your own opinion and examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are seeking solutions on the net for their health-related issues. In my opinion, I think that this is a negative development which can lead people’s safety and well-being in the potentially harmful situations.

One serious problem of searching for medical advice on the web is that people may misinterpret the information related to diseases and drugs due to the fact of little learning. To illustrate, as most of the health-related websites are developed for the better understanding of professionals only, so it appears to be difficult for the lay people to distinguish the exact causes of their problems. As a result, they might have taken the wrong medications which have many adverse effects. For instance, a simple cough and flu might be treated by the high doses of antibiotics.

Another issue to consider is that gathering medical knowledge from online portals may negatively influence the real doctor-patient relationship. In other words, there are many diseases which have similar presentations with each other and it is the professional physician who can confidently reach to a final diagnosis. Therefore, the given diagnosis of the doctor and the presumptive one of the patient that they have learned shortly from the websites would be mismatched. Consequently, trustworthiness might be lost between them, which, in turn, make them uncomfortable with each other to give and take the treatment respectively.

Finally, there are some scam web pages which allure the people by offering quick recovery from the diseases and some people are becoming the victims of those scammers both in physically and financially.

To conclude, although some people are interested to solve their health issues by learning from the internet, I believe that this trend is going to bring lots of hazards for us in the long run.