Some peopre beft:eve lhey should keep oll the money they hove
eorned ond should nol poy lox lo lhe sfofe. Do you ogree or disogree?
I disagree with the statement that individuals should not pay taxes to the state. The government runs the
country from the taxes it collects. Taxes are collected only from those who earn above a certain minimum
limit. lt is our moral duty to pay taxes.
Tax money collected by government is used to fund basic amenities, provide various services to citizens
and for government administration and projects, running of jails and defense system, and many other
operations. lt is not wrong to say that "taxes run a country." Thus, it is very important for a government to
make people pay taxes.
Let us analyze why people do not want to pay taxes. The main reason is their dissatisfaction with
government in serving them. They blame government for things like lack of infrastructure, poverty and
unemployment, but they are not completely wrong as tax revenue is misused in some or the other way in
every country. ln developed countries, however, because of higher satisfaction from government's
functioning, citizens may be more willing to pay taxes. Another factor generating dissatisfaction is the tax
structure itself. Often the tax system is complex and it drives people away from paying taxes. lt is also felt
that the tax rates are high and tax slabs are unequal. So they feel it is not unethical if one goes for tax
avoidance or tax evasion.
Not paying taxes can drastically affect a country's revenue generation, my own country, lndia, for that
matter. But then, it is equally desired that government come up with a fair tax structure and also make
people aware where the taxes are being diverted. Even lowering the tax rates can help a country increase
its tax collection as it would increase compliance among the taxpayers. Tax reform should also be fast so
that no public grievance or non-compliance remains for long. A proper tax system backed up with strict tax
laws can produce the best results.
Summing up, I reiterate my opinion by saying that it is the duty of every citizen to pay tax and the duty of
every government to use it appropriately in public interest.