Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many people who believe that as people’s lives are getting longer as more time they must devote to the work raising the retirement age. As for me, I can not agree with this matter fully and I’m sure that in some cases such an attitude may have negative consequences. In the following part of this essay, I will give an example and express my opinion on this issue.

To begin with, as technology and medicine develop as more nations live longer and longer. No one can deny that it’s logical to lift the border of retirement since people are still able to work and contribute to the developing of a country’s economy. It might be argued that the government is not capable to face the expenditures and the maintenance of pension payments is a burden for it.

However, some factors of human attitude are impossible to neglect and must be taken into account. For instance, nearly in Russia, the government decided to elevate dramatically the age at which people retire by 5 years. In terms of people who were about to retire, they were extremely disappointed because of it and many of them refused to work which led to unemployment and poverty. Moreover, some of the elderly argued that government by doing this is stealing money from people since they will receive less pension than they used to do. In my opinion, retirement age increases shall occur gradually as long as the average length of lives goes up. The government should take into consideration all circumstances of each individual case and action according to it.

In conclusion, widening the age of retirement may effect negatively both elderly and society. However, it is inevitable that this tough decision will happen one day. If the right approach is chosen by the government, the negative consequences will be evaded.