Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The retirement age has become a controversial problem because some people believe that with the longer lifespan of recent times, retirement should consequently be delayed. In my opinion, no change should be made to the existing system.

Firstly, even if humans can now aim for a better life expectancy, the effect of time on workers still has its impact.

This means that whether employees live longer or not, after a certain age (usually after 60) they tend to be physically and mentally tired and, therefore, less efficient.

Moreover, those who regardless of their advanced age are employed at workplaces where new technologies and method are easily introduced, may not be able to keep up with more receptive and active new generations.

Secondly, after having contributed to one's company for decades, everyone should be allowed to spend his\her old age as they want to without being obliged to work longer only because average age has raised.

More noticeable is that as a consequence of postponed retirement, younger people are deprived of the possibility of having their own professional development.

With two generations blocked in their unsatisfactory positions, the economy can nothing but go down.

In the end, it is preferable that everything stays unchanged.

There are no benefits to having older and older people being paid for a job they do not want do anymore rather than fresh people who are eager to take their place.

Most of all, I think the ultimate goal of improved life and, hence, longer existence is to give people the chance to experience as much as they can of the world, not to confine them to their workplace.