Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is proposed that the lower limit for retiring age should be significantly raised in response to to higher life expectancy of a growing number of senior citizens. Personally, I find it hard to support such proposition.

On the one hand, there is ground to the belief that an adjustment of age for retirement is of absolute necessity. Firstly, as unemployed old people rely on monthly pension to pay for their expenses, the fact that they can live longer often translates into more pressure on the taxpayers, whose money is partially extracted to ensure the lives of the elderly. Secondly, there are many fully capable workers who can still work for their livelihood so it is unfair to take away their desires to work and contribute. Some might say that the combination of these two reasons can cause social tension between generations and this problem can be solved by simply raising retirement age.

On the other hand, I see flaws in these arguments that make the proposition less credible. To begin with, in order for a society to develop both economically and politically, youngsters should be facilitated with new avenues to become the leaders. If the older generations are still in office, such promotion is unlikely to take place and consequentially, hindering the social growth. In comparison to this, some financial pressure is a low price to pay. In addition, a fixed retirement age is necessary because there is more to life than just working. Old people should direct their attention at other focuses such as entertainment or their own well-beings. In this modern world where people tend to be workaholic, a definite threshold for retirement can be the remedy that many people need.

In conclusion, while there exist understandable reasons for raise age for retirement, I think such a change is more harmful than beneficial.