Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

There are lots of people assuming that education is the backbone of children, therefore, they need to follow it thoroughly. Meanwhile, others argue that spending time off school for a period before applying for university is also a good choice for young adults, nowadays. Yet, taking this gap brings students both pros and cons which are going to be discussed in this passage.

On the one hand, the most significant strength of postponing higher education for particular purposes is beneficial in acquiring pragmatic experiences. It is undisputed that knowledge from books does play an indispensable role in studying but those practical acquaintances can only be acknowledged through actual experience. Furthermore, this is also a valuable opportunity to train their skill set. For instance, by working or travelling by themselves, they would probably have to learn how to deal with unpredictable issues using their acquired proficiency. As a result, the youth can also sharpen their skillset and attain to be more mature and proficient.

On the other hand, despite its immense merits, deferring tertiary education is undeniably disruptive to the process of studying. Both working and traveling requires an enormous amount of time focusing on it so when coming back, it would be a burden for them to catch up with their peers. Consequently, anxiety, peer pressure, and depression will take place understandably. In addition, having gap years may unintentionally make the students lose their relish for gaining knowledge due to an adequate payment factor in working. There are some young people who believe that studying is merely to earn a satisfying amount of money. Therefore, when they can earn money on their own without continuing their education, they will definitely have no reason to follow their curriculums.

To conclude, while delaying university can have beneficial results for studying purposes by broadening students’ knowledge, it also brings detrimental effects to this process. Thus, before taking a gap, each individual should consider all of its ramifications.