Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

It is true that these days, young people plan to go travel or work for a while instead of applying for university right after finishing high school. While there are many drawbacks to the delay, there are many good reasons why it might be beneficial to have some off school and find their own path.

On the one hand, the option to procrastinate attending university directly is attractive for several reasons. Firstly, going out, exploring, and working can be an unique experience for youngsters since they probably cannot choose the right path they want to head to in the future and it will affect not only them but also the economy in general. The economy will be suffered from their lack of interest, therefore, these young workers will also refuse to improve themselves and their work so that the final result will get worse over time. Secondly, this opportunity helps young people gain more confidence and try to adapt to life through their sacrifices while traveling or working. For instance, a famous Youtuber Sadie Aldie once talked about how amazing and grateful she felt after taking two gap years, and now, she can finally choose a major she feels the most comfortable and confident in because of the experiences she learned from the prior journey.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why taking a step back from going directly to university is not the right choice. First, not attending college after high school can cause some insecurities and unease o certain people because of their family's traditions or from listening to other people's opinions. According to CNN, China was the country where all students have to go to university directly so that their educational backgrounds are secured and they can use that degree to apply for a position in companies. Furthermore, the idea of going out into the real world or traveling, working in a completely strange place, meeting different kinds of people can sometimes make youngsters feel overwhelmed and scared as their whole lives are always in a safe spot. If they want to get out of that comfort zone, they have to be tough and learn how to deal with all the difficulties and challenges up ahead, which makes some students have an uncomfortable sensation.

In conclusion, it seems evident that both taking a gap year and delaying going to university directly have their own advantages. It depends on what young people long for and whom they want to become in the future.