In some societies it is increasingly common to try to achieve good health and fitness through physically demanding sports, special diets, or preventative medicine convential or alternative. Some people, however, believe that the best way to stay fit and healthy is simply to lead a normal life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One of the highly debatable issues today relates to whether physically demanding sports, special diets or preventive medicine are necessary to be healthy and fit or leading a normal life is the best way to stay fit. I strongly agree that physical exercise, proper diet and nutritional supplements are necessary to stay healthy due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in my essay.

On one side of the argument, there are people who believe that the benefit of physical exercise, sports, balanced diet, and conventional or alternative preventive medicine considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is this approach helps to prevent obesity, the risk factor for numberless medical diseases. It is also possible to say that exercise and diet are responsible for releasing hormones in the body, which ultimately will be helpful for mental and emotional health. A second point is that with decreasing food quality and increasing the use of pesticide, the nutritional value of food is decreasing. So preventive medicine like multivitamins will definitely be helpful to maintain the nutritional status. One good illustration of this is one study showed a significant weight loss in 337 obese patients, who were on exercise and a special diet as compared to the noninterventional group. As prevention is better than cure, it is easy to see why this argument has gained support.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact leading a normal life is just sufficient to be healthy. People often believe that enrolment in physical exertion and special diet programs is a total waste of money. A second point is that this kind of hard physical activities and diet can cause harmful effect on the body as well. A particularly good example here is the incautious, negligent use of such kind of exercise and diet can cause acute renal failure due to excessive protein loss. Furthermore, every drug has some side effect, so it is better to avoid unnecessary medicines. Thus, it goes without saying that this viewpoint is credible and realistic too.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of the issue, I feel that the only logical conclusion is that the advantages encountered by sports, special diets and preventive medicine outweigh their disadvantages. Hence, I am strongly inclined to the opinion that careful practice of physically demanding sports, special diets, and preventive medicine

are important for good physical and mental health.