Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own experience or knowledge.

According to some people, modern life provides us with an overwhelming number of options. I strongly agree as, in the era of internet and globalization, we have an enormous number of options for our basic need to luxurious facilities. This essay will discuss the different choices we have.

Food is a preliminary requirement for each human being. People have many options for what they want to eat, and from where they want to purchase their food. For example, every kind of cuisine like, Chinese, Mexican, Italian, etcetera is available everywhere. There are various options like a local shop, supermarket, malls, online applications to buy groceries, whereas, in the old days, there were only 2-3 local shops for the same purpose. With modern preservation techniques, people have many choices in fruits and vegetables available around the year irrespective of seasons. If we move up on our hierarchy of needs and focus on entertainment, people have numerous options like TV, Cinema, iPad, PlayStation etcetera. Even there is a massive increase in the number of channels on Television as compared to previous days.

Moreover, gold and diamonds ought to be the most expensive needs nowadays as compared to earlier days when gold and diamonds are available only in the form of jewellery, in present time people can get them in pen, wristwatches, specs, etcetera. Furthermore, any part of the world is reachable with various options in transportation. So, people have numberless destinations for their luxurious vacation. For example, in ’90s people cannot even think to go abroad for their honeymoon in India.

To conclude, the advancement of science and technologies and widespread use of the internet have made people’s life easier, providing multiple choices for their basic needs as well as a luxurious lifestyle.