In some societies, it is increasingly common to try to achieve good health and fitness through physically demanding sports, special diets, or preventative medicine – conventional or alternative. Some people, however, believe that the best way to stay fit and healthy is simply to lead a normal life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays many people are focused on strong health and attractive physical fit intensively. That is why, such people usually go to the gym, visit hospitals taking preventative medicine and apply various diets. Nevertheless, certain part of society claim that to lead a healthy lifestyle is sufficient to get fit and to stay healthy. In my opinion, both options have their reasons to support their logic.

To begin with, it is absolutely natural that people intend to health and beauty including some measurements such as fitness and diet. Moreover, it is the choice of every person and approaches to this issue are also highly individual. Secondly, as popular proverb says:”to prevent is better than to cure”, really, it is better to avoid ailments than then treat them wasting time and money. For example, it is vital to be vaccinated against diseases such as measles, rubella and hepatitis B. Special attention should be paid to children and teenagers because usually their immune system is not ready to fight with insidious infections and viruses. To make matters worse, every missed medical checkup can lead to the aggravation of diseases. For instance, it is better to detect a tumor or other oncologic diseases at the first stage rather at last because timely treatment will be more successful. Finally, there are certain diets which are not just whim of some people but necessity. For example, people with diabetes or predisposition to such disease should follow strict diet in order to maintain the level of sugar in blood. Thus, just balanced food is not appropriate in separate cases.

On the other hand, it is obvious that actions like visiting the gym or usage of organic food during the diet require decent amount of money. So, most likely socially unprotected people cannot allow it. However, instead of expensive procedures people simply can do exercises at home and avoid eating fast food along with harmful habits.

To sum up, both choices have their benefits and the most effective decision could be leading normal life and not to ignore supplementary medicine as well as workouts in the gym and extraordinary diets if it is really necessary.