In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment.

The issue of juvenile delinquency rate has always been a crucial point for the overwhelming majority of people who truly believe that adolescents should be convicted and jailed as adults. When it comes to me, I definitely feel that everyone must obey the law, but we should understand that most teenagers are still kids and prison can be a heavy trauma for them further in life.

Though there are several important points to make in support of my position, on of the core argument that I would like to make in this debate is that adolescents, probably, can be traumatized for life after serving their penalty in prison. There is no doubt that teenagers totally run the risk of getting mental diseases. For instance, in 2017 it was reported in The New York Times, that nine-tenth of teenagers who had been sentenced to prison and had been there for more that a year, got a several disorders, which could not been cured fully.

Another aspect to be mentioned is that not only will youngsters be limited in opportunities later in life, but also they will gravitate towards to do crimes again. It is obvious that such close communities as prisons keep a huge number of different types of criminals. In order to survive, teenagers have to communicate with murderers, drug dealers and so on. Having conducted a research in the field of crime psychology, scientists have revealed that 80 per cent of adolescents end up in prison again since they got a lot of acquaintances who motivate them for bad actions even after their first prison sentence.

To conclude, taking everything into account all I mean is that teenagers are not as mature as adults. Therefore, I am sure, adolescents should not be in prison for grown-ups.