Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

A scholar of thoughts from high school seniors holds that they want to have a year- long break after graduating because of various reasons like working, traveling, so on. In my opinion, the drawbacks outweigh the merits.

On the one hand, there are considerable benefits which gap year takers will be received. First of all, some students from the unprivileged family can accumulate a financial fund to cover the expensive higher education tuition from working some part-time or fulltime jobs at that time. Besides that, delaying tertiary education for one year not only make the improvement of their financial status, but also it enriches their life experiences; as a result, they can specify what the suitable job or field is theirs and pursue plans for their career path in the future.

On the other hand, there are many irresistible drawbacks about time, financial, mental problems if some people dedicated to defer university enrollment. First, gap- year takers who will be procrastinated their studying time; As a result, they will waste more studying years than their friends of same ages. Moreover, when the gap-year students realize that their friends not only are developing their prosperity day-by-day, but also their knowledge is extended more than the gap-year pupils; hence, pupils who had a year-long break can be fallen behind and they are feel more unconfident than. Secondly, people who delay tertiary education for one year will have personal income lower than who do not take a gap-year. Restrictively, high-school graduates are usually searched entry-level jobs to work so a high-level of paycheck is never got by themselves; meanwhile, their friends who do not delay university for a year will be applied for some better jobs and the jobs both help them cultivate relevant job skills and earn salary higher than.

In conclusion, I completely believe that students who procrastinate university enrollment will have the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Stopping university program for a year not only take more time, but also have lower financial than others at the same age.