Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that although fast food has played a vital role in life, it is also prone to illness. There are those who think that the government should impose a higher tax on this food to having a balanced life, while others state that this is not the case. In this essay, I will completely agree with the latter view.

The first point to make is that, in general, imposing a higher tax on junk food is not the best way to making healthier life. To explain, people have created a perennial habit regarding consuming fast food hence they will still order convenient food even costing an arm and a leg. For example, white-collar workers find it easy to buy a combo hamburger because they can spend time on other activities instead of cooking. As a result, people who use fast food as a routine will stem from economic burden when the government trying to encourage consuming healthier food by the higher tax.

Another compelling point is that higher taxes could be a barrier to economic development. To be more specific, convenient food has accounted for the vast majority of Gross Domestic Product in a great number of nations. For instance, there are several famous brands like KFC, Mcdonald apparently in the whole of big cities, it also contributed a large amount of money to the government. Furthermore, not only does it offer a large number of job opportunities but it also helps consuming products on the farm.

In conclusion, this essay supports the idea that imposing a higher tax on fast food could stem from harmful effects to the economy, however, it is ineffective to change consuming food habits because of fast food’s convenience. It is predicted that the government should raise resident’s awareness because it’s cost-effective to change behaviors.