Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online Is this a positive or negative development

Online courses offered by universities have advantages and disadvantages for students and must be considered when applying.

I personally see online courses as a positive development for the following reasons. One positive aspect is being able to study from home whenever it suits your schedule. Hence, you are able to keep working and gather practical experiences while studying. This is for most of us a great relief regarding the high amount of university fees students have to pay. But not only students who need to work are taking advantage of a flexible schedule, but also students who are mothers and fathers, taking care of their children, are able to achieve their career goals while maintaining family life.

The negative sides are the lone study. As a student, I benefit from open discussions and hearing diverse perspectives, and having an exchange of theories and reflection on praxis. When you are studying at home, you miss out on the inspiration a class at the university can provide. Students clearly miss out on the connection to other students, possible new friendships, and activities.

Studying alone means also less support network, when you have trouble understanding the lectures.

In general, I believe it is a positive development because it allows working people and parents to participate in courses and extend their qualifications and specify their professional knowledge.

The disadvantages mentioned above can be minimized by personal effort connecting with other online students and setting up support groups.

A greater variety of online courses and non-online courses gives students simply the possibility to choose between these offers whatever suits their individual lifestyle best.