Space exploration requires vast sums of money. Is the amount of money spent on space research justifiable? Could the money be better spent?

What is your viewpoint on this issue? Give reasons for your answer.

// space exploration, $$, profitable

Critics throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether spending on space exploration is justifiable or not. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest discoveries from NASA have casted light on this question based on its achievement and financial figures. This essay will discuss both views using these examples to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the groundbreaking discoveries made are intuitively perceived as the positive drivers of space exploration. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, resources that are exclusive on earth have potential values on scientific development. Secondly, the vacuum environment without gravity outside earth is a key factor for a considerable number of experiment. In fact, the material that employed on Tesla's electrical vehicles are derived from the space exploration in 19th century. Moreover, it must not be forgotten that although some of these experiments were failed, the experience of living in space station has fostered the plan of dwelling in other planets. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the money spent on space research is justifiable.

Although there is a case for monetising the space research into some tangible products we can use in daily life, the impact of space exploration cannot be overstated, in particular the colossal investment. This is largely because the preparation of an exploration entailing construction, logistic and pays for researchers is deemed extravagant. For instance, recent extensive study from the US government ascertained that the spending on NASA last year was in fact tripled that on social welfare. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the cleavage between the rich and the grassroots should have been narrowed if the idea of space exploration had been demolished since WWII. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that space research intensifies the financial burden of our government.

In conclusion, the space research resulting scientific achievement is beneficial to our living but also hinders the societal development. Given the ongoing economic revival, it is predicted that the investment on space station will be increased in the foreseeable future.