Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that information exchanging in the form of speech surpasses doing in the form of text. I completely agree with this view, regardless of special or normal circumstances.

First of all, I strongly believe that spoken interaction is not inferior to written communication even when it comes to formal events. In summits or conferences, for instance, speech plays a crucial role in terms of negotiating and ideas sharing, while writing-related approaches are scarcely used for those purposes. One may maintain that written documents are easier to archive and retrieve compared to oral data, but they fail to realize that nowadays recording and extracting of the prior spoken conversation are preferable and prevalent, thanks to advancements of the technology. Moreover, official messages may be conveyed more efficiently to the public by word-of-mouth rather than by pieces of writing. National statements or new policies are cases in point, would be better disseminated by talks on the media, instead of by intricate and implicit passages of words since people may find it baffling and impatient to read those administrative documents.

At the same time, I would argue that in daily situations, oral communication is also far more powerful than the written counterpart. The first reason is that speaking allows people to impart and feedback information immediately, which is time-saving and boosts the efficiency of the discussion process. The best illustrations for this view are phone calls, outweighing email and text messages in the aspect of instant connection. And obviously, emotions expressing can be exactly achieved by verbal format, but not by words written. Furthermore, provided that writing is rather formal to utilize in ordinary circumstances, speaking is more comfortable and preeminent for daily interaction. Without inclining to correct mistakes in others’ speech, informal utterances encourage people to engage and thus catalyze the interaction process to progress faster and further.

In conclusion, it seems to me that speaking, with more advantages in conveying the ideas, either officially or ordinarily, would outperform writing.