"Students learn far more with their teachers than other sources (internet or television), To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

The dominance of the Internet technology has brought about drastic changes in almost every aspect of our life, including education. While some people argue that teachers remain the most important factor contributing to student achievement, I am more convinced that students can gain more knowledge through novel learning sources such as the Internet or television.

To start with, regarded as the global data warehouse, the Internet offers an inordinate amount of knowledge for just about every subject known to man, ranging from arts, history to archeology and astronomy, the lists is simply endless. Thanks to the usefulness of the information available, motivated self-learners can access a wealth of material straight from respectable university sources. Realistically, one can probably find almost anything he wishes to know on the World wide web. Whereas, rigid school curriculum is likely to keep students from realizing their great individual potential. In fact, the needs and learning styles of each student are so varied that a standardized curriculum won’t work.

On the other hand, supporters of traditional learning environment would argue that the presence of qualified teachers is of paramount importance in helping students acquire knowledge in a systematic way. However, there is mounting evidence that students are becoming alienated and bored by traditional teaching methods. In stark contrast, digital learning tools help every student learn at the best pace and path for them. The opportunity to customize learning sequences for each student will make education more productive. Moreover, by incorporating both visual and audio contents, online learning would provide a more engaging and dynamic experience for students of all ages. Eventually, better engagement would lead to productivity and improved motivation.

In conclusion, with the advent of the world wide web, teachers are no longer the only guidance for students. Self-motivated learners can obtain far more from online resources, and customize the materials to fit their interest and learning style.