The subjects and course content for children are decided by the authorities, such as the centre government. Some people think that teachers should decide these for students. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

The role of government in designing a core curriculum for students has aroused adverse criticism, with some people claim that teachers are more competent to do this. Personally, I believe that authorities are more preferable to elucidate a standard course book, which I will discuss the reasons.

To begin with, a potent core curriculum seems to include essential modules which effectively contribute to exceeding student`s academic achievements. This means that school syllabus would outstrip if it could serve pupil`s must-learn skills, according to their age, and intellectual abilities. This is when the government and policymakers come into play. While carrying out continuous surveys to probe the complexity and intelligibility of lesson contents, they assume responsibility to sufficiently determine such necessary modules incorporated in standard course books. Furthermore, it is widely acknowledged that all levels of education should have an equal curriculum in order to end sexual, age, and racial discriminations while transferring scientific materials. This may also encourage the sense of competitiveness and enthusiasm among students, leading to enhance their educational skills, and thus career progression and success later in life.

I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that as teachers are constantly trying to update their contemporary methods of teaching, it appears sensible that they decide about subjects and modules. Nevertheless, this may impose the risk of partiality, as they consider some specific skills which have been well-trained. It means that without comprehensive course books which are adopted in faculties, we may run the risk of illiteracy in special disciplines. For instance, there are some examples of teachers who tend to focus mainly on mathematical subjects, and students eventually would not be well-educated in other fields such as language.

Given these arguments, it seems reasonable to conclude that government and pedagogical can design more effective modules and subjects, and benefits for all levels of students are enormous. This is provided that teachers employ updated methods to pass pupils the facts and details, without the risk of bias.