Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society

According to many surveys, there has been a remarkable increase in the number of people who living longer aroud the world. This essay will delve effects of this situation on both individuals and society. In my opinion, as people live more and more year some problems occur, such as diseases and increased young unemployment.

Admittedly, after decades of speculation, geriontologists were able to obtain fairly accurate information concerning elderly health and their mental abilities. People who older 65+ suffer from serious illnesses, such as hearth attack, brain stroke even cancer. According to a report published by the New York Times, old people more predisposed to inevitably diseases than young people. Secondly, their creativity and productivity might decrease due to their ages. For instance, if there were less elder employees in Apple, which is the biggest company of the USA, the company would gain more profit from sales thanks to their dynamic managers. Thus, there are a pronounced correlation between age and health and creativity.

Despite these arguments, there are also a variety of possible negative effects of old generation on the society, such as increased health expenditures and young unemployment rate. Perhaps the main negative effect of longer living is that the governement have to spend more money on health sector in order to provide better public hospital services. A good illustraion of this, Germany spend more money on orthopedy industry owing to age of their citizens. Furthermore, goverments should be prudent concerning their older populations because this might be perilous for new generations. Young people either cannot find a job or work with low salary due to older employees. Hence, even though a number of measures have been taken to tackle these problems, the problems could not be solved yet.

In conclusion, it must be said that the decision as to whether living longer is harmful for both society and individuals must be taken in the context of the entire society. However, in my view this situation has a lot of negative effects not only on individuals but also on society, such as health problems, lack of effectiveness work even rising of health expenditures.