Task 2: In countries where there is high unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding a job.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the debate on the necessity of education in the context of soaring unemployment rate has never been completely settled. Although pursuing post-primary education without future job prospects may appear nonsensical, middle school abolition cannot be viewed as the optimal approach for humankind to tackle this situation due to its counterproductiveness and immorality.

First, not facilitating secondary education is counteracting because it may exacerbate the problem of unemployment. In fact, one of the major causes of unemployment is the implementation of automation technology; therefore, limiting the youth to elementary-level education is an act of surrender to the robots and the issue itself. Instead, children should be encouraged to harness transferable skills in order to not be displaced by these tools. By this approach, societies experiencing high rates of joblessness are less likely to witness their workmanship quality be compromised, which is the inevitable and undesirable outcome of the suggested abolition.

Second, restricting post-primary education is an unethical violation of the human right to education. Consequently, this scourge aggravates social inequality across the world, jeopardizing the youth’s life chances. For example, because of their illiteracy, a great number of Indian children are deprived of the opportunity to participate in the professional environment, unlike other competent candidates from educationally developed countries such as the U.S.. Furthermore, the mentioned abolition underestimates the core purpose of education. Not only does the privilege of studying secure a decent job, it also promotes self-esteem and personal growth, which is equally worthy of appreciation and should not be considered redundant.

In conclusion, taking the unwanted after effect and human injustice into consideration, it is groundless to overlook the paramount importance of post-primary education.