Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Although citizens are always proud of their heritage and culture, they rarely visit the historical places and local museums in their countries, meanwhile, the majority of the visitors are foreigners. In this essay, I will discuss the factors that are responsible for this trend, and what the governments should do in order to overcome this issue.

On account of the fact that tourists attractions are considered to be an essential source of national income, most of their tickets tend to be quite pricey which discourage residents from visiting them. They prefer to spend their money on something more interesting such as cinemas, nightclubs, and entertainment or amusement centers. Furthermore, inhabitants find visiting museums so boring due to their awareness of their own history and their full cognition about the monuments and artifacts of their country. On the contrast, tourists not only are intrigued by foreign cultures, but they are also keen on gaining more information about different civilizations.

Countries should endeavor to make these historic sites more attractive to locals. Firstly, governments can reduce the entry fees for local residents in the pursuance of encouraging them to visit their own museums. Therefore, if people find the prices of these places more affordable, they will visit them on a regular basis. Moreover, they can induce schools to organize trips to historical places in an effort to instill the importance of history in the students' mindset. Hence, they will bring up generations of youth who value their own heritage and civilization.

To recapitulate, citizens may refrain from visiting local historic places because of the costly tickets and their strong knowledge about their history. Consequently, governments should exert much effort to attract residents' attention either by reducing the ticket's price or encouraging schools on taking their students to these sites regularly.