Task 2: Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negativedevelopment?Give reasons for your answ

These days, the way many folks communicate with each other has altered owing to the technology. Technology has influenced the types of relationships people establish in numerous ways, and in my view, it is a positive advancement.

Technology has had a strong impact on relationships in three ways. Firstly, the amount of personal time we simply spend with our friends and family has exceedingly shrunken. Since i can carry on conversation through social media whenever i crave, i hardly pay attention to the family members and leave my home to communicate with others. Secondly, having technological based interaction has made people profoundly sad because this type of connection fails to deliver personal touch. When i won second prize in quiz competition, i had presumed to receive a big hug, instead i was sent lots of thumbs up and smiley face in Facebook and Twitter, which actually did not make me feel a personal connection with the poster. Last but not least, misunderstandings, miscommunications and assumptions are the frequent effects of the online interaction. For instance, i have considered many times on what someone meant by their words in a text or over email. Unless i witnessed their body language and heard their voice, i never really knew whether they were being funny, serious or sarcastic during the conversation, leading to utter confusion.

Having said that, i strongly believe that the developments of technology are truly constructive because of the following reasons. Primarily, in the pre-digital age, the intercommunication between me and my father, was entirely restricted to written letters, which were unquestionably time consuming and inefficient. But nowadays i can keep in touch with my parents including all my mates from any part of the globe instantly and efficiently, saving time and money. Another remarkable benefit is that the technology like social media remains a dominant root of finding copious friends with common beliefs, interests and hobbies. Not only would this type of online friendship yield a considerable insight about their respective cultures but also could become a solid basis for overcoming a sense of total isolation. Digital interactions that are usually thought to be a superficial interaction tend to be more genuine currently. In fact, i have found the enjoyers of digital technology being the heaviest users of public places such as cafes, restaurants and religious centres, which means that they can be labelled as similar as face to face interaction.

To sum up, considering effectiveness, knowledge enhancement and authentic relationships of the technology, it has indeed remained a positive development.