Task 2 Some people believe increasing business and cultural contacts between countries are a positive development while others argue that it is a threat to identity of a nation Discuss both view and give your opinion

Opinions are divided into the implications of international integration. While many suppose that such cooperation would be beneficial considering that it would lead to an increase in trade activities and cultural richness levels, critics believe that it would be the culprit behind the degradation of cultural values, such as a deterioration in languages and domestic lifestyles. This essay will deal with these two views and express my opinion on them.

On the one hand, growing international interaction is believed to be a positive development given that it would open up growth opportunities for involved countries in many aspects. In terms of business, firms, especially those in developing countries, would reap the benefits from the disappearance of trade barriers, such as reaching potential customers beyond national borders or attracting more foreign investment. Moreover, employees would be able to work overseas in multinational corporates. Regarding national culture, thanks to transnational integration, the engaged country can not only enrich its own culture with the world’s cultural quintessence but also promote its image in others’ eyes. For example, Vietnam, after the Renovation policies imposed in 1986, has experienced unprecedented economic gains and attracted more interest in its cultural values compared to the country’s situation before the year 1980.

On the other hand, a commonly associated risk of borderless contact is that it would pose a threat to national specialties considering two following reasons. First, the dominance of affluent countries’ cultures can overshadow others’ cultural identities by virtue of globalization. This would be exemplified by a tendency in Thailand in which its young generation have a preference for American and Korean entertainment products rather than their domestic songs or films. Such a trend, as a result, would take a heavy toll on a country’s own values. Second, given that cross-cultural activities underline the necessity of international languages, native dialects, especially minor ones, could be driven to the verge of extinction. In fact, most people would prefer to do business or interact in commonly spoken languages such as English or Chinese.

From my standpoint, both arguments would surely be compelling as they are the true reflections of the possibilities of an ever-growing economic and cultural interaction among nations. Such exchange is an inevitable tendency that can be considered as either a golden opportunity for a country to grasp or a challenge for it to overcome in terms of cultural growth. Hence, both governments and individuals should take appropriate actions to protect distinct cultures from being submerged by other cultural or economic influences.

In conclusion, the expansion of international ties would pose a dilemma when it both exerts advantages for the economic and cultural development of engaged nations and create tensions between global culture and a country’s national identity. Therefore, the authorities as well as citizens should have further consideration of this phenomenon.