Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is sometimes argued that international holidaymakers should be charged more money than the locals as the admission fee for entry to cultural and historical places. This, from my standpoint, would be unacceptable and counterproductive to the host country.

Admittedly, the local state needs a budget for the maintenance of its tourist attractions. However, such expenses have already been covered by the locals’ annual taxes as well as the government’s subsidization. Foreign travelers, on the other hand, should spend money on a multitude of goods and services, including food, commuting, accommodation, and souvenirs, when traveling, which would make a huge contribution to the economy of the host country. To this cause, it would be objectionable to impose a higher fee on them.

Furthermore, charging visitors from other countries would exert the opposite impact on the nation itself. If such people got a bad impression that they must give additional payment compared to the local ones for access to historical or cultural places, they would mostly feel unpleasant and share their dissatisfaction with others. That would mean there would be fewer potential customers, imposing detrimental influences on the further development of the country’s tourism industry. For instance, Turkey’s government used to increase the price for international visits, which was four times higher than for local visitors, to its famous historical place - Topkapı palace. It was a such decision that reduce the number of foreign visitors to that country, making its tourism sector experience a severe crisis.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I disagree with the argument in favor of higher prices for foreigners to make a visit to cultural and historical attractions.