Teachers used to convey information but now with wide resources of information Some people think that there is no role for teachers to play in modern education others disagree Discuss both views and give your opinion

While a wealth of knowledge has been increasingly accessible via the internet, the role of academics in modern tutorial system continues to be controversial because some people claim that they only transmit information to the students. However, others, including me, believe that it is one of a range of duties teachers should perform. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluded view.

On the one hand, opponents of teachers in modern education highlight the fact that the internet has provided a valuable source of information on various fields beyond the teacher`s knowledge. While improving the student`s study skills such as independent research and synthesizing sources, rather than old-fashioned rote learning, these pleasant experiences seem to make their lesson less teacher-led. This is surely a significant factor which clearly contribute to improving their academic achievements. Furthermore, it is often said that the internet can be inevitably an invaluable resource for the distance learning and self-study modules, as there are some hinterlands and rural areas suffering from an inadequate supply of teachers. This could be tremendously influential because such deprived areas can be sufficiently connected to a network of learning system, eventually improving the educational level of people from different ages.

On the other hand, those who support the teacher-based education point out that it is the role of teachers and school managements generally to ensure the use of the internet remains a guided learning process. The pupils may find data-gathering from the social networks fairly overwhelming, as they are provided with a wide array of information, either useful or frivolous. Advocates also add that the accessibility to the networks does not necessarily mean that students can find all their answers autonomously. Having a generous help from an expert, well-trained teacher not only expand pupil`s knowledge but also enhance their logical and lateral thinking.

To conclude, I believe that the internet can supplement and add to the knowledge which the students are assimilating through teachers and course books. This is provided that teachers manage their access to useful information, and guide them in finding their answers, progressively lead to higher lateral thinking abilities.