Many university students live with their families while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations?

There can be few challenges more important than where to settle as a new college student, and the question of living with families or independently in a different city is complex. There is a number of obvious merits and a few shortcomings for both situations which I will discuss in this essay.

With regards to living with family, the most visible advantage would be a significant decline in the overheads such as the cost for accommodation and foods. This is undoubtedly beneficial because less affluent families might pass up the opportunity to go to university. Furthermore, a second plus point might be the emotional support that students receive from their parents, meaning that they feel more secure and thus more confident. On the other hand, the most impractical characteristic could be possibly the extreme dependency on the family in terms of financial and emotional matters whereby may curb the sense of adventure.

Turning to those living in a distant city, the most outstanding benefit might be that having such an independent life, they assume responsibility for financial and social affairs. This is definitely valuable, since the majority of them seek a job opportunity, hopefully leading to both academic and career achievements. However, the most worrying aspect would be probably the social issues which seem to be clear limitations, due to such consequences as addiction, juvenile delinquency, sexual and drug abuse and mental disorders like depression that afflict many students. Finally, a further handicap might be the extortionate cost of property, foods, and transport which is usually an aggravation for most families.

All things considered, while living away from family would seem a great experience, leading to full responsibility, for many people, there are several difficulties to cope with. Whereas, I personally believe that the benefits in terms of living with the families eventually outweigh any drawbacks.